The Rand Skills Enhancement Centre has been recognised and accredited by the following industry authorities for the quality of our training and skill development programmes.

The merSETA is one of the 21 Sector Education and Training Authorities (SETAs) established to promote skills development in terms of the Skills Development Act of 1998 (as amended). The 21 SETAs broadly reflect different sectors of the South African economy. The merSETA encompasses Manufacturing, Engineering and Related Services.

About merSETA

The various industry sectors are covered by five chambers within the merSETA:

  • Metal and engineering
  • Auto manufacturing
  • Motor retail and component manufacturing
  • Tyre manufacturing
  • Plastics industries

Together the five sub-sectors comprise about 40 000 companies of which about 14 600 are levy-paying.  The workforce employed by the total number of companies is about 600 000. The total levy income is approximately R1.308 billion.